AUCSO announces Annual Awards 2024 shortlist  The names are out!

AUCSO announces Annual Awards 2024 shortlist The names are out!

The Association of University Chief Security Officers (AUCSO), the leading organisation for security professionals working in Higher and Further Education around the world, has announced its Annual Awards 2024 shortlist.

With the ‘best of the best’ now selected as a shortlist, winners will be announced on Wednesday 10 April 2024 at the AUCSO Gala Dinner and Awards Evening which will take place at The Lutyens Crypt and Treasury at Liverpool Metropolitan Cathedral.

The Awards’ ceremony forms part of the 2024 AUCSO Annual Conference and AGM taking place from Monday 8 April to Wednesday 10 April 2024 at the University of Liverpool and hosted by Andrew Molloy, AUCSO member and Head of Campus Support Services.

This year’s Conference’ theme is ‘Unveiling the Added Value of Security Services’ and will see over 200 delegates attend from Higher Education organisations in the UK and Ireland, Australia, South Africa, USA, Qatar as well as a large contingent from Europe.

The Annual Awards celebrate the outstanding work security teams have achieved within their institutions during 2023.

The awards shortlist is:

AUCSO Security Officer of the Year

Ross Brown, Edinburgh Napier University

Hylton Ennis, University of Birmingham

Tanya Forsyth, University of Strathclyde

Steve Scott, Coventry University

Awarded to the Security Officer who has consistently performed to a high degree of excellence and professionalism going above and beyond the usual expectations of their job role. They will also have displayed actions bringing credit to the campus security community, courage, and determination in dealing with an incident requiring them to not only have a highly professional approach but has required them to perform outside the expectations and requirements of their job role.

AUCSO Security Team of the Year

B Shift, Edinburgh Napier University

Team 1, University of Birmingham

B Team, Swansea University

Campus Security Team 5, University of Glasgow

Awarded to the Security Team whose teamwork or involvement in an incident has required them to perform outside the requirements of their job role, displaying courage and determination in dealing with incidents and supporting the Campus community.

AUCSO Security Manager of the Year

Tanya Kalsi, University of Birmingham

Tracey McCarthy-Shaw, University of Brighton

Ryan Eldred, Wilfrid Laurier

Awarded to the Security Manager how has introduced innovations which have added value to their institution, positively participated in the wider security community, led to positive changes in reducing Security Risks and has consistently demonstrated leadership across the Security Team.

AUCSO Initiative of the Year

Off Campus Response, Nottingham Trent University

Team Initiative, Wilfrid Laurier University

Incident Reporting System, Coventry University

Community Safety Team, University of Birmingham

Security and Community, University of Northampton

Awarded to the security team who has introduced a unique innovative initiative which has added value to the Security Operation and the institution.

Commenting on the awards shortlist, AUCSO Chief Operating Officer, Julie Barker, says:

“We’re delighted to announce this year’s awards shortlist and it’s wonderful to see such a breadth of universities being shortlisted from across the UK and as far as Canada.”

“As with previous years, the awards are hugely competitive with so many great submissions it’s always so difficult to select the shortlist. We’re very much looking forward to announcing the winners at our 40th Anniversary Conference in April.”

MEB Media Publishing (UK) Ltd

13 Princess Street,


ME14 1UR

United Kingdom


Our sister publications

Campus Estate Management Magazine


Smart Automation Magazine